Caring is at the heart of everything we do.

Our People

Find out more about what we do, who we are and how we can help you.

The work of Northern Ireland Hospice is governed by our Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees comprises of ten members who meet every two months and are responsible for the strategic direction and policy of the charity. Elected members of the Board of Trustees are elected by the membership to serve for a specific period, following which they must be re-elected at the next Annual General Meeting.

A scheme of delegation is in place and day to day responsibility of the services in line with approved plans and budgets rests with the Chief Executive Officer (CEO), supported by the other members of the senior management team.

A corporate governance framework exists, consisting of a central corporate governance committee chaired by the CEO, supported by six sub-committees, including the Finance sub-committee chaired by the Treasurer. Trustees participate in the sub-committees, which meet regularly to ensure that operational policies, procedures and systems incorporate sound management and financial controls in keeping with current best practice.

Chief Executive

Heather Weir, MSc BSc RN



Paul Clark, MBE

Vice President

Olivia Nash, MBE

Vice President

Alan Corry-Finn

Board of Trustees


Margaret Butler

Honorary Treasurer

David Clements

Vice Chair

Rodney McCurley

Gillian McAuley

Helen Pallin

Johnny Graham

Professor Randal Hayes

Andrew Talbot

Brian Dornan

Anne Witherow

Corporate Leadership Team

Director of Corporate and Business Services

Áine Gallagher

Director of Innovation and Commercialisation

Caroline McGoran